Menu
Book Details

Book Details


MFN No 112

Search:
Amazon.com
Google Books

Author Links:
LibraryThing
Wikipedia

Search for Ebooks:
Project Gutenberg
Open Library
Book Title The house at Riverton
Author Morton, Kate;
Subject English literature
Descriptors Women household employees; Reminiscing in old age; Upper class families; Poets; Great Britain Social life and customs--1918--1945; England; Mystery fiction; Fiction;
Call No PR9619.4.M74S55
Description Summer 1924: On the eve of a glittering Society party, by the lake of a grand English country house, a young poet takes his life. The only witnesses, sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, will never speak to each other again.

Winter 1999: Grace Bradley, 98, one-time housemaid of Riverton Manor, is visited by a young director making a film about the poet's suicide. Ghosts awaken and memories, long-consigned to the dark reaches of Grace's mind, begin to sneak back through the cracks. A shocking secret threatens to emerge; something history has forgotten but Grace never could.

A thrilling mystery and a compelling love story, The House at Riverton will appeal to readers of Ian McEwan's Atonement, L.P. Hartley's The Go-Between, and lovers of the film Gosford Park. - Source: Powell's Books
View Detailed Summary / Hide

Volume 0
Imprint London: Pan Books, 2006
ISBN 978-0-330-44844-4.
Edition NONE
Language English
Total Copies 1
Issued 0
Available 1

Copyright ©2020 Asian University for Women Web design by IT Department. All Rights Reserved.